Content Tabs:
Adams: The Chairman Dances
MacMillan: Violin Concerto No 2 - World Premiere
(Commissioned by the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Swedish Chamber Orchestra, the Adam Mickiewicz Institute and the Dallas Symphony Orchestra)
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No 6 in B minor, Pathétique

Nicola Benedetti, violin
Maxim Emelyanychev, conductor

Join Scottish superstar violinist Nicola Benedetti and Principal Conductor Maxim Emelyanychev to celebrate the launch of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra’s 2022-23 Season – in music of joyful wit, searing power and high emotion.

Nicola Benedetti gives the world premiere of the brand new Violin Concerto No 2 by Scotland’s foremost composer, Sir James MacMillan. His long musical relationship with Benedetti forms the basis for this major new work, which showcases the violinist’s renowned technical agility and exquisite poetry.

Maxim Emelyanychev brings the concert to a cathartic conclusion with the raw emotions of the Pathétique Symphony by his compatriot Tchaikovsky, while US composer John Adams kicks things off with his witty evocation of Chairman Mao tripping a foxtrot.

£30.50, £27.50, £24.50, £20.50, £15.50; Disabled concession £16.50, £15, £13.50, £11.50 (inc £2.50 booking fee per ticket), £7.50; Students/Young Scot/Under 26s £6; under 18s go free

Book for all six Perth Concert Series concerts and save 25%
£133.50, £120, £102, £84, £61.50 (inc £3 booking fee per subscription)

The Perth Concert Series is a joint promotion between the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, the Royal Scottish National Orchestra and the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra in collaboration with Horsecross Arts.

When you purchase tickets to our concerts your personal details will be processed by these organisations in order to provide you with relevant information about our activities as Arts Organisations and, where applicable, Arts Charities. These include keeping you up-to-date on the events you have booked as well as sending you information about similar events and opportunities to support our work.

More information about how we process your data can be found within the Privacy Statements on the websites of the SCO, the RSNO and the BBC SSO and Horsecross Arts. If you wish for your data not to be used in these ways, please tell us at the point of purchase or contact us each directly.

Other Info
Perth Concert Series: Scottish Chamber Orchestra - Benedetti and Emelyanychev Book now
Wed 28 Sep: 7:30pm
Gannochy Trust Auditorium