Content Tabs:
Part of Perth Concert Series 2019/20

Beethoven Symphony No 6 'Pastoral'
Beethoven Symphony No 7

Maxim Emelyanychev, conductor

Beethoven was a city dweller, a superstar in Vienna - where he was often acknowledged as the greatest composer in the world. However, it was the countryside that really set his troubled soul on fire, and his sixth symphony - originally titled 'Recollections of Country Life' - is an emphatic homage to the wonder and beauty of nature.

Principal Conductor Maxim Emelyanychev takes us on this elemental walk through the countryside, before turning to the bacchanal of the seventh symphony. The stirring melody and pulsating rhythm of its Allegretto movement - made famous in Colin Firth's dramatic address in The King's Speech - is closely followed by an alarmingly exuberant finale!

£29.50, £26.50, £23.50, £19.50, £14.50 (inc £1.50 booking fee per ticket); under 26s/students/Young Scot £6; 18 and under go FREE (under 16s to be accompanied by an adult)

Pre-concert talk: 6.45pm
SCO Principal Conductor Maxim Emelyanychev discusses tonight’s concert.

The Perth Concert Series is a joint promotion between the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, the Royal Scottish National Orchestra and the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra in collaboration with Horsecross Arts.

When you purchase tickets to our concerts your personal details will be processed by these organisations in order to provide you with relevant information about our activities as Arts Organisations and, where applicable, Arts Charities. These include keeping you up-to-date on the events you have booked as well as sending you information about similar events and opportunities to support our work.

More information about how we process your data can be found within the Privacy Statements on the websites of the SCO, the RSNO and the BBC SSO and Horsecross Arts. If you wish for your data not to be used in these ways, please tell us at the point of purchase or contact us each directly.

Other Info