Content Tabs:
Shostakovich: Suite from Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk
Shostakovich: Piano Concerto No2
Shostakovich: Symphony No5

James Conlon Conductor
Simon Trpčeski Piano

Shostakovich wrote his Fifth Symphony in terror for his life and gave it the title ‘A Soviet artist’s response to justified criticism’. But the music tells another story: of fear, resistance and unbreakable courage. James Conlon explores the many faces of a 20th century genius – joining the phenomenal Simon Trpčeski in the delightful Concerto that Shostakovich wrote for his teenage son and unleashing the raw satirical energy of Lady Macbeth: music so outrageous that Stalin had it banned.

£29.50, £26.50, £23.50, £19.50, £14.50; Disabled concession £15.50, £14, £12.50, £10.50 (inc £1.50 booking fee per ticket), £6.50; Students/Young Scot/Under 26s £6; under 18s go free

Buy all three Perth Concert Series concerts and receive 10% discount off the ticket price: £80.10, £72, £63.90, £53.10, £39.60 (inc £1.50 booking fee per concert)

Other Info
Perth Concert Series: Royal Scottish National Orchestra - Shostakovich Spectacular Book now
Thu 21 Apr: 7:30pm
Gannochy Trust Auditorium