Content Tabs:
Part of Perth Concert Series 2019/20

Smetana Overture, The Bartered Bride
Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto
Dohnányi Symphony No 1

Gergely Madaras, conductor
Karen Gomyo, violin

Discover the world of Hungarian composer Erno von Dohnányi - the missing link between Romantic Vienna and the fiery sounds of Bartók and Kodály. His first symphony is something of a passion for our Hungarian guest conductor Gergely Madaras; and its moody fin-de-siècle atmosphere offers a lush contrast to Tchaikovsky’s sunlit Violin Concerto - a work that can’t quite decide whether to sing or to dance, and ends up doing both in the most tuneful way imaginable.

The ‘barnstorming’ (The Daily Telegraph) Karen Gomyo should light up the sky - and we begin in rural Bohemia, with the ebullient overture to the funniest of all Czech operas.

£29.50, £26.50, £23.50, £19.50, £14.50 (inc £1.50 booking fee per ticket); under 26s/students/Young Scot £6; 18 and under go FREE (under 16s to be accompanied by an adult)

Pre-concert talk: 6.45pm
Conductor Gergely Madaras discusses tonight's concert and their musical passions.

The Perth Concert Series is a joint promotion between the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, the Royal Scottish National Orchestra and the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra in collaboration with Horsecross Arts.

When you purchase tickets to our concerts your personal details will be processed by these organisations in order to provide you with relevant information about our activities as Arts Organisations and, where applicable, Arts Charities. These include keeping you up-to-date on the events you have booked as well as sending you information about similar events and opportunities to support our work.

More information about how we process your data can be found within the Privacy Statements on the websites of the SCO, the RSNO and the BBC SSO and Horsecross Arts. If you wish for your data not to be used in these ways, please tell us at the point of purchase or contact us each directly.

Other Info