Content Tabs:
Part of Perth Concert Series 2019/20

Priority subscription booking is now open and runs until Wed 14 Aug. During this period you can only book for this concert if you subscribe to the full Perth Concert Series season. Subscription bookings are only available in person or by phone - please contact our Box Office to book. Single tickets go on sale Thu 15 Aug from 10am.

Weber (orch. Berlioz) Invitation to the Dance
Schumann Cello Concerto
Brahms (orch. Schoenberg) Piano Quartet in G minor

Alexander Vedernikov, conductor
Johannes Moser, cello

Passions ran deep in the Romantic era, and a simple dance rhythm could be enough to set hearts pounding. Weber's Invitation to the Dance begins with quiet courtesy, but in Berlioz's silken, glittering orchestration it positively whirls you off your feet. And Brahms starts his Piano Quartet with three movements of mellow emotion - before suddenly cutting loose in the wildest, craziest folk-dance he ever wrote. Schoenberg loved this piece, and his uproariously entertaining orchestral version doesn't stint on either colour or panache. Hearing is believing: and that goes double when guest conductor Alexander Vedernikov joins the distinguished German cellist Johannes Moser in Schumann's ardent Cello Concerto.

£29.50, £26.50, £23.50, £19.50, £14.50 (inc £1.50 booking fee per ticket); under 26s/students/Young Scot £6; 18 and under go FREE (under 16s to be accompanied by an adult)

Book for all six Perth Concert Series concerts and save 25%! To redeem this offer, add tickets for each concert to your basket and the discount will be applied automatically.

Pre-concert talk: 6.45pm
Tonight’s soloist Johannes Moser, in conversation with BBC SSO Director Dominic Parker, discusses tonight's concert and his musical passions.

The Perth Concert Series is a joint promotion between the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, the Royal Scottish National Orchestra and the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra in collaboration with Horsecross Arts.

When you purchase tickets to our concerts your personal details will be processed by these organisations in order to provide you with relevant information about our activities as Arts Organisations and, where applicable, Arts Charities. These include keeping you up-to-date on the events you have booked as well as sending you information about similar events and opportunities to support our work.

More information about how we process your data can be found within the Privacy Statements on the websites of the SCO, the RSNO and the BBC SSO and Horsecross Arts. If you wish for your data not to be used in these ways, please tell us at the point of purchase or contact us each directly.

Other Info