Content Tabs:
Perth Concert Series 2018/2019

C.P.E. Bach Symphony in E-flat major, Wq. 179 (H. 654)
Stravinsky Violin Concerto
Bruckner Symphony No 7

Carolin Widmann, violin
Ilan Volkov, conductor

The first thing you sense is a quiet shimmer in the air. And then, like some vast mountain rising from the clouds, the opening melody of Bruckner's Seventh Symphony soars majestically towards the heavens. Bruckner said it came to him in a dream, played by an angel - but when Ilan Volkov brings his searching musical intelligence and emotional insight to bear on this monumental 'cathedral in sound', the results might well be revelatory. Two contrasting - but equally inventive - masterpieces set the scene: an ebullient little symphony from JS Bach's son Carl Phillip Emmanuel, and the witty, electrically-charged Violin Concerto that Stravinsky intended to be unplayable. No fear on that score from our soloist Carolin Widmann.

£28.50, £25.50, £22.50, £19.50, £14.50 (inc £1.50 booking fee per ticket)
Students/Young Scot cardholders £6
Kids go FREE to this show - two under 16's go free with a paying adult. To trigger this offer insert your under 16’s tickets into your basket and the discount will be applied automatically. Additional under 16's £6.

Book for all six Perth Concert Series concerts and save 25%
£123, £109.50, £96, £82.50, £60 (inc £1.50 booking fee per subscription)

Pre-Concert talk: 6.45pm - Tonight’s conductor, Ilan Volkov, introduces the concert. Free to ticket holders.

The Perth Concert Series is a joint promotion between the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, the Royal Scottish National Orchestra and the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra in collaboration with Horsecross Arts.

When you purchase tickets to our concerts your personal details will be processed by these organisations in order to provide you with relevant information about our activities as Arts Organisations and, where applicable, Arts Charities. These include keeping you up-to-date on the events you have booked as well as sending you information about similar events and opportunities to support our work.

More information about how we process your data can be found within the Privacy Statements on the websites of the SCO, the RSNO and the BBC SSO and Horsecross Arts. If you wish for your data not to be used in these ways, please tell us at the point of purchase or contact us each directly.

Other Info