22 Sep 2017

Perth Concert Series: BBC SSO

Share this with:

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

Palestrina Sicut Cervus (4 part motet)
JS Bach Prelude and Fugue in B flat minor, BWV 867 (arranged by Beethoven for String Quartet)
Handel Zadok the Priest, HWV258
Gluck Dance of the Scythians from Iphigénie en Tauride
Mozart Misericordias Domini, K222
Beethoven Symphony No 9 'Choral'

Thomas Dausgaard, conductor
Louise Alder, soprano
Jennifer Johnston, mezzo-soprano
Stuart Jackson, tenor
Neal Davies, bass
Royal Conservatoire of Scotland Voices
(Timothy Dean, chorus master)

Every performance of the Ninth is a major occasion, and with fresh voices from the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland leading the famous Ode to Joy, this will be a magnificent opening to the new Perth Concert Series. But no revolution happens in isolation, and in a specially-conceived first half, Thomas Dausgaard and the BBC SSO journey into Beethoven's musical ancestry to find the roots of this music: from Mozart and Handel, back to Bach and the music of the Renaissance. Hear the Ninth with new ears!

Pre-concert talk: 6.45pm - BBC SSO Chief Conductor Thomas Dausgaard introduces tonight's concert. (free to ticket holders)

£28, £24.50, £21.50, £18.50, £14 (inc £1.50 booking fee per ticket); students £6
Disabled + carer discount available, contact the Box Office for more information
Under 16s FREE (two children per paying adult, additional u16 tickets £6), contact the box office on 01738 621031 to book.

Book all six Perth Concert Series concerts at the same time and save 25%! (BBC SSO - 22 Sep, SCO - 9 Nov, RSNO - 12 Oct, RSNO - 22 Feb, SCO - 11 Apr + BBC SSO - 27 Apr)
£120.75, £105, £91.50, £78, £57.75 (inc £1.50 booking fee per subscription)
Perth Concert Series subscription is not available online, please subscribe by visiting the Box Office at Perth Concert Hall, or by calling 01738 621031.

Book online


Venue: Gannochy Auditorium - Perth Concert Hall