Content Tabs:
Thea Musgrave Memento Vitae
Sergei Rachmaninov Symphonic Dances

Jamie Phillips, conductor

This August NYOS Symphony Orchestra is delighted to welcome conductor Jamie Phillips to the podium for the first time.

Jamie has been praised for his ability to breathe new life into well-established repertoire. He also has a strong commitment to contemporary and twentieth-century music, making him the ideal candidate to lead NYOS Symphony Orchestra through a vivid and virtuosic programme of music from the last 100 years, which includes Musgrave’s Memento Vitae – a ‘concerto in homage’ commissioned by BBC Scotland and the Saltire Society to commemorate the bicentennial of Beethoven’s birth – and Rachmaninov’s unapologetically nostalgic Symphonic Dances encapsulating both the composer’s love for the Russia he once knew and his lifelong fascination with ecclesiastical chants.

£18.50; concessions £13.50 (inc £1.50 booking fee per ticket); under 26s £6

Other Info
NYOS Symphony Orchestra 2020 Book now
Tue 4 Aug: 7:30pm
Gannochy Trust Auditorium