13 Dec 2013

Perth Concert Series - BBC SSO

Share this with:

There's pomp and pageantry in Elgar's wonderful London-inspired concert-opener.

But it's spiced with both quiet beauty, knockabout comedy and tinted with gorgeous sunset hues. Donald Runnicles has set it alongside the dazzling brightness and equal vitality of Beethoven's headlong Fourth Symphony, and the twilight world of Shostakovich's First Violin Concerto. Here it's perfomed by James Ehnes, whose "indelible, intellectually gripping" Shostakovich performances have left critics reeling.

Elgar Overture: Cockaigne (In London Town)
Shostakovich Violin Concerto No.1
Beethoven Symphony No.4

Donald Runnicles, conductor
James Ehnes, violin

Pre-concert Talk: 6.45pm
Violinist James Ehnes in conversation

£25.50, £21.50, £19.50, £16, £11.50
(includes booking fee)

Save 25% when you book all six Perth Concert Series concerts! Contact Box Office for details.
Part of Perth Concert Series

Book online


Venue: Perth Concert Hall